Engage Newcastle - Our Community, Your University


The Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition 2014

Do you have an original solo piano composition worthy of a concert performance at the Conservatorium? Or are you ready to unleash your creative talent into an award-winning musical score to be performed at a premier Newcastle concert venue?

Established in 1989 through the generosity of Mr. Laurie Bogan as a memorial to his wife, the Jean Bogan Prize is the only one of its kind in Australia. Since its inception, the prize has produced fine piano compositions, including a number by leading Australian composers such as Elena Kats-Chernin, Andrew Ford, Nigel Westlake and Brenton Broadstock.

The Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition offers two exciting categories – The $8,000 Jean Bogan Prize and the $1,500 Jean Bogan Youth Prize. Compositions for both streams can be in any particular style and the musical scores should be 10 to 20 minutes in length.

Submissions close Friday, 31 October 2014.

Download Guidelines and entry form here.

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: ,

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Background Image